SSC CGL Syllabus

SSC CGL Syllabus 2017:

Being familiar with the syllabus for any exam is the first step of preparation. In the case of SSC CGL, it is very important for a candidate to know the syllabus in depth so as to prepare better by covering all topics well for different CGL tiers. SSC CGL Syllabus 2017 will most probably incorporate all the changes that were made last year. There is a lot of overlap across the different tiers. The detailed SSC CGL 2017 Syllabus for each tier is mentioned here. Do keep in mind, typically the difficulty level of questions is higher in SSC CGL Tier-2 compared to Tier-1. There is no reason to expect that the syllabus of the exam would change this year.

Note: It is quite possible that the test makers introduce new ways of testing your knowledge within the syllabus. So, conceptual knowledge is very important so that you are able to tackle questions posed in different forms from these topics.

SSC CGL Tier 1 Syllabus & SSC CGL Tier 2 Syllabus:

SSC CGL Tier 1 Syllabus & SSC CGL Tier 2 Syllabus- As both tiers have similar subjects and topics like SSC CGL General Awareness & SSC CGL Quantitative Ability they have been clubbed together.

Syllabus for TIER-I & TIER-II
Subject/Paper TIER-ITIER-II
EnglishReading Comprehension Reading Comprehension
Spotting ErrorsSpotting Errors
Antonyms and Synonyms Antonyms and Synonyms
Phrase Replacement Phrase Replacement
Sentence Correction Active/Passive voice
One-word substitution Direct/Indirect Speech
Fill in the blanks
Spellings Spellings
Phrase or Idiom meaning Phrase or idiom meaning
Sentence Improvement Sentence Improvement
Vocabulary Vocabulary
Quantitative ReasoningInterestInterest
Percentage Percentage
Ratio and ProportionRatio and Proportion
Averages Averages
Time, Speed and DistanceTime, Speed and Distance
Basic problems on age Basic problems on age
Number series and systems Number series and systems
Data interpretation Data Interpretation
Algebra Algebra
Geometry Geometry
Trigonometry Mixtures & Alligations
Profit and Loss Time and Work
Graphs of linear equations
Square Roots
General Intelligence and ReasoningClassification
Coding and Decoding
Word Formation
Venn Diagram
Blood relations
Number series
Missing numbers
Distance and directions
Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning
Semantic Classification
Critical thinking
Emotional Intelligence
Symbolic Operations
Decision makingn
Spatial Orientation
General AwarenessCulture
Indian History
Current Affairs
Books and Authors
Space Science
Computer and Mobile Technology
Persons/Places in news
General Policy
Economic Scene
Finance and Accounting (Part A) Fundamental principles & basic concept of Accounting
Financial Accounting: Nature and scope & limitations
Depreciation Accounting
Valuation of Inventories
Non-profit organisations Accounts, Bills of Exchange
Self-balancing ledgers
Economics and Governance (Part BComptroller & Auditor General of India
Finance Commission-Role and functions
Concept of Economics
Introduction to Micro Economics
Theory of Demand and Supply
Theory of consumer s behaviour-Marshallian approach
Theory of Production and cost meaning of production
Forms of Market and price determination in different markets.
Indian Economy, Population, Poverty, Unemployment, Growth etc.
Collection and Representation of Data
Statistics (For some posts) Measures of Central Tendency
(For some posts)Measures of Dispersion
Moments, Skewness and Kurtosis
Correlation and Regression
Probability Theory
Random Variable and Probability Distributions
Sampling Theory
Statistical Inference
Analysis of Variances
Time Series Analysis
Index Numbers

SSC CGL Tier 3 Syllabus:

The shortlisting criteria for Tier-3 which is a descriptive examination takes into consideration marks scored in both Tier 1 and Tier 2 of SSC CGL examination. Candidates who make it to the merit list qualify for Tier 3 exam. The minimum qualifying marks for the Tier-III paper is 33% only. It is a written paper out of 100 marks consisting of
  • Essay Writing and Letter / Application writing
  • One-hour paper which can be written in either English or Hindi

SSC CGL Tier 4 Syllabus:

Candidates who score minimum qualifying marks, as decided by the commission in all the three tiers are called for Tier 4 exam. The examination consists of Data Entry Skill test and Computer Proficiency test. The Skill test is for those, who have applied for Post of Tax Assistants (In Central Excise and Income Tax) and Computer Proficiency test for those who have applied for Assistant Section Officer posts in CSS.

Check SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017

2017 SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Post your Comment! Note: Your Email address will not be disclosed.


Do you want to become an IAS officer like Saumya Sharma?
Study Online at  Neostencil Logo

Our UPSC 2018 results (15 in top 100, 124+ overall)

Your Exam segments is being saved. Please wait....

Select Exam(s) you are interested in

please enter valid OTP